“How Can I Sleep”

As I’m lying in the final moments of the day,
I can’t help but feeling,
There’s something left undone,
Something left unsaid,
Something I should have begun.
In my once again repeating discontent,
I make a vow to never feel like this again.

But I’ve sung, I’ve danced, and I’ve laughed,
Been home with a cup of coffee in hand,
And out in a cheerful society,
And still I say “it’s not enough”?
Even if I were in love,
Time would pass,
And I’d still go to bed,
With this bleak view inside my head.

How can I sleep,
When the whole world’s not sleeping?
See how much I’ll miss,
Talks, and thoughts, and colors,
While I simply go on flipping?

I stay awake in want of so much more,
To absorb every single color and every single creature,
Every challenging thought from every willing teacher.
To be out there,
Anywhere.

How can I sleep, when all I want to do is live?

One thought on ““How Can I Sleep””

Leave a Reply

